Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Hero's Lot by Patrick Carr

Hero's Lot is the second book of the series The Staff and the Sword. I loved the first book that chronicles Errol Stone's journey from a drunk orphan to a staff wielding hero. The second continues on as the threat of evil becomes even greater as the king is on his deathbed. They journey through perilous lands to fulfill the new compulsion Errol is under. This book is full of adventure and mystery. The only criticism I could give is the romance portion is lacking. I would rather there not be any romance as I find the interaction between the two childish. But other than that, I really, really enjoy this series and if you are into fantasy/adventure, this series is for you. I continue to look forward to the next release.

I received this book free from Bethany House Publisher's in exchange for my review.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Angels in the Fire by Dann Stadler

Angels in the Fire is a true story of the survival and rehabilitation of 2 people who should not have made it through a terrible head on collision. The story of Dann and Tracey Stadler is quite amazing. The couple was heading to their parent's house when they were suddenly struck by a drunk driver. The fact that their rescuers were able to remove them from the car was miraculous. I loved the story of the angel, who multiple people saw, came to rescue Tracey out of the car. The resulting hospitalization is a trial all in itself as they were separated for months following the car crash. This is an inspiring read.

I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my review

Gone South by Meg Moseley

This is a sweet summer read that will keep you engaged. The main character is a northerner who decides to move south to purchase her ancestor's home but all does not go as planned. I enjoyed the stereotypical interaction between small town people and the Northern personality. The interaction between Tish and Mel was well done as you end up with two "outsiders" who find commonality in their struggles to be accepted by the community. There is of course a love story intertwined as well. All in all a great summer read.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.

Thursday, May 9, 2013

It Is Finished by David Wilkerson

It Is Finished is essentially a book that explains the New Covenant. I think many Christians don't truly understand the significance of the New Covenant and how it affects everything in our spiritual lives. This book does a fine job explaining the "how to" defeat sin in our lives. While this book is small it is jam packed with information. I also enjoyed the real life letters that were included as examples of people who struggle with the very topics he deals with in the chapters. If you desire to have a better understanding of the New Covenant this is a great read.

I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my review.

Thursday, May 2, 2013

Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris

Humble Orthodoxy is a short but straight to the point book. Mr. Harris deals with the age old problem of how do you get truth across without putting people down. Grace and Truth. Each are essential and Jesus is the fulfillment of both. You can't have one without the other. Well, you can try but it's not very effective. This book gives a great introduction as to what happens when you focus too much on theology and then what also happens if you don't know any theology. Both can be hazardous. Humility is what it boils down to. Recognizing we are all in a spiritually desperate condition and the only one who can save us is Christ. There's no place for our own ego in that. This is a small book but packs a lot into it. I believe it is worth the time to read.

I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.

Thursday, April 25, 2013

7 Men by Eric Metaxas

        Eric Metaxas new book endeavors to take us on a journey through seven different men's lives throughout history to answer two questions. The first is "What is a man?" and the second is "What makes a man great?". Each chapter is a mini-biography to show us the courage it took in these men's lives to surrender their own desires for a greater purpose. Don't miss the introduction. It sets up the entire book and gives great insight to a growing dilemma in our society today.
        I happened to be doing a study on Hebrews while reading this book and it struck me that these men have what Hebrews 13:7 says "Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith."(NASB) I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it is very inspiring. It should spur us on to action. To live out our faith, not just talk about doing it. I highly recommend this book. A must read for everyone.

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Unrivaled by Siri Mitchell

I really enjoy Ms. Mitchell's historical novels. She does a great job wrapping a novel around actual events and giving us a great look into history. This story takes place in St. Louis and brings together two rival candy makers. It shows the competitive nature that would arise between companies as well as a glimpse into the time before child labor laws. Lucy is in the midst of her debut into society but all she wants is to make candy for her father's floundering candy company. I enjoyed the tension between doing what was socially acceptable and what her passion for candy making wanted her to do. Which of course led to tension with the man she was attracted to yet her "enemy".
I enjoyed this book and anyone who enjoys historical fiction will not be disappointed.
I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my review.

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Avenged by Janice Cantore

Avenged is the third book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series. I haven't read the others in the series so I jumped right into this novel. The author does a good job re-capping events that happened in the previous books so I didn't feel to out of it. There was obviously major tension between Carly and her husband, Nick which had since been resolved. The storyline kept my attention and the suspense was well done. If you enjoy police drama, this would be a good series.

I received this book free from Tyndale publishers in exchange for my review.

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Fortress of Mist by Sigmund Brouwer

Fortress of Mist is the second book in Merlin's Immortals series. This series continues to intrigue and make you look forward to the next in the series. The forces of good and evil are played out well and at times your not sure who to root for. The mysteries are still being unraveled and we get just enough into Thomas's past with those mysterious books. I enjoy the character of Katherine who disguises who she really is. I am looking forward to figuring out more about her character as she seemingly is falling in love with Thomas. If you enjoy fantasy books, you'll enjoy this series which is geared toward middle school age.

I received this book free from Waterbrook Press in exchange for my review.

Thursday, March 14, 2013

A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr

The fantasy genre is a favorite of mine and this book was a great read. I like that its not written for middle schoolers but geared to adults. I felt really invested in these characters by the end of the book and I look forward to reading the next in the series. The main character Errol goes from being an orphaned drunk with no purpose in life to the hero of the story. I love the change he goes through and how it flowed through the book. There was the right amount of action, adventure and imagination. I was glad they left the romance element out of the first book as there was enough happening without adding that to the story. If you enjoy fantasy, this is well worth the read.

I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my review.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Clouds by Robin Jones Gunn

Clouds is part of a series of 8 books that have to do with characters in a town called Glenbrooke. This is the first novel I have read in the series and I didn't feel like I was missing anything from another book. I really enjoyed reading this book. I thought the character development between Shelly and her childhood friend Jonathon was well done. You really felt the connection between them. You of course want them to be together but know there will be a twist. I thought the way the book was woven together made it a delightful read. I will even say I'm surprised I liked this book so much because normally contemporary romance is my least favorite genre. Definitely a worthwhile summer or cold winter's day read!

I received this book free from Waterbrooke Multnomah in exchange for my review.

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Wishing on Willows by Katie Ganshert

"Wishing on Willows" is a contemporary romance novel that has an element of grief but also a book about second chances. I enjoyed the characters and their development. The author does a fine job creating tension between the main characters and you find yourself wanting them both to win even while wanting opposite things. The fact that both Ian and Robin have loved and lost and are grieving over two different kinds of losses they can still relate to each other and their attraction grows without them even realizing it. I did find Robin irritating sometimes in her need to fix everyone's problems.  I enjoyed this book and for anyone who enjoys contemporary romance, this is a great read.

I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Twice a Bride by Mona Hodgson

Twice a Bride was the fourth in series Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek. I haven't read any of the other books but it didn't hinder my understanding of any of the characters. There were a few instances when I ran into a character that I knew their story was told in one of the previous books, but the author did a good job giving us just enough information to get a picture of what happened. I enjoyed the story as well as the historical aspect of women starting to enter the workforce and it being mostly accepted. One negative for me was all the characters in the story. They were difficult to keep straight at times. I'm sure if I had read the others in the series that wouldn't have been an issue. A good story if you enjoy Historical Romance.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

The Breath of Dawn by Kristen Heitzmann

I always enjoy Kristen Heitzmann novels and this was no exception. Breath of Dawn was a romantic suspense novel about a girl who is running from a man she testified against and finds herself turning to Morgan, a rich "success guru" who is mourning the death of his wife. This book hooked me from the beginning and was engaging the whole way through. I was thinking about a third of the way through that I had read about these characters before, which of course I had in "Rush of Wings". I thought the build up about the scary basement was a little overdone but it did come full circle in the end. I thought the book was very well done and just the right amount of suspense and romance.

I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review